Quick overview of next steps for Sinn Fein

Sinn Fein is to undergo its first leadership change for 35 years after Gerry Adams has announced his plans to stand down. 

The safe money is on Mary Lou McDonald to take over with the transition expected to happen early next year.

What happens next?

• The process for appointing a new leader will be decided by the newly elected Ard Comhairle who is expected to meet in the next two weeks.

• They are expected to set the date for a special Ard Fheis which will most likely take place early next year.

• A motion was also backed at the Ard Fheis to hold a special conference about entering government as a coalition partner in the Republic.

• Northern leader Michelle O’Neill has ruled herself out of the running for the leadership position.

New Ard Comhairle

• Martina Anderson MEP, Michelle O’Neill MLA, Lynn Boylan MEP, Megan Fearon MLA, Cllr Mairead Farrell, Senator Marie Devine, Sean Murray, Matt Carthy MEP, Chris Hazzard MP, Eoin O’Brion TD, Mícheál Mac Donncha, David Cullinane TD.

• Conor Murphy MLA was elected Treasurer with Pearse Doherty TD. Declan Kearney MLA was elected Chairperson. The General Secretary is Dawn Doyle.